Life is Precious

I’m writing this on Tuesday evening.  Today I found out that someone I went to high school with lost his battle with cancer.  He left behind a beautiful wife and a toddler.  Last year a young father in Tallahassee died in a car accident, leaving behind his pregnant wife and 2 daughters.  In January 2008 my sorority sister, Susie, lost her battle with cancer as well.  At the time of her death her daughter was 3 and her son was 5.

Death is something that is supposed to happen to the elderly.  It’s something that should come as a kind of reward for putting in your time, working hard, watching the generations beneath you grow, and meeting your goals.  When it happens to people my age or younger we pay attention.  When it happens to people who have young children and are seemingly just building their lives we stop and take stock.

That is what I am doing in this post.  I am so grateful for my life.  I am grateful for my husband and daughters and the way that we take care of each other.  I am so proud of what Mark has acheived in the years we’ve been together and that his accomplishments have allowed me the opportunity to stay home with our daughters.  Not only have I been available to my girls but I have also learned to be available to myself.  I’m not sure that this would have happened if I was still in the classroom teaching.  I am grateful for writing and learning.  I love that when I walk into Border’s and inhale the scent of the books something comes alive inside of me.  I am thankful for my friends, the ones I’ve re-connected with, the ones I’ve always had, and the newest ones.  I am grateful for the family I grew up with, my precious loving mother, hard-working and honest father, my organized and faith-filled oldest sister, and my caring, doting, and forgiving older sister.  I have learned and am still learning so much from them.  I am grateful for my spirituality.  I am glad that I did my own searching and found God in my own way.

There is so much to be thankful for that this post could go on for days.  I’m sure I will revisit gratitude in the future.  What I know today is that life is precious.  It is great to have dreams and fantasies about our futures.  I definitely believe in putting in time planting those seeds.  But like plants need water and sunlight, I think our dreams need to be nurtured with gratitude for what we already have.  I believe that the more time we spend being grateful, the more things arrive for us to be grateful for.

What are you grateful for?  If you have it, take the time to comment!

6 thoughts on “Life is Precious

  1. Lisa June 25, 2009 / 8:20 am

    I read you loud and clear momma! I am SO grateful for my family and friends. They never fail to lift me up and to help me remember why we are all here.

  2. Amanda June 25, 2009 / 9:13 am

    I’m thankful for my faith, which has gotten me through (and continues to get me through) the toughest challenges that can be thrown. I’m thankful for my family, which is the cornerstone I build on in my life. I’m thankful for my friends. I’m thankful for my job. I’m thankful for so MUCH!

    And I’m thankful to you, Leslie, for opening my eyes with your writing and making me think about things like this! 🙂

  3. Jase June 25, 2009 / 10:37 am

    Like you, I’m grateful for so many things.

    I’m grateful for my kids.

    I’m grateful I found Trace.

    I’m grateful for my health and my progress in recovery.

    Thankfully I have these things to be grateful for, because life sure is testing me lately 🙂

  4. Judee Pouncey June 25, 2009 / 12:30 pm

    I love what you say here: There is so much to be thankful for that this post could go on for days.

    I am participating in the 42-Day World Gratitude Gathering (http://www.worldgratitude.com) and when I was writing my gratitude list yesterda (a long one), I added, “I am grateful that I could keep on writing for pages and pages and pages about things I am grateful for!”

    : )

  5. Judee Pouncey June 25, 2009 / 12:33 pm

    I love what you say here: There is so much to be thankful for that this post could go on for days.

    I am participating in the 42-day World Gratitude Gathering (http://www.worldgratitude.com) and when I was writing my gratitude list yesterday, I put as the last item: I am grateful that I could go on and on and on and on about what I am grateful for!

  6. lesleehorner June 25, 2009 / 1:19 pm

    Thank you all so much for your comments. I am also grateful for this blog and the people who read it! Thank you for spending a few minutes each day with my words!

Leave a Reply

