Silence

I used to be a TV addict.  The set was always on whether I was watching it or not.  Most of the time I was watching it though, even if I couldn’t find something I really wanted to watch, I’d find something to settle on and make myself interested.  I had a favorite TV show for everyday of the week.  There was no need for a TV guide, I was a walking TV guide.  It was an issue between Mark and me, especially during football season, when all he wanted was to watch the Eagles play.  But on those occasions I didn’t even give up the remote…how could I miss that old rerun of ER?

A couple of years ago, after I took the meditation class and had been doing a lot of reading, I decided to give up my TV junkie ways.  I realized that the TV was intruding upon my ability to hear myself.  I was filling my life up with noise, chaos, and other people’s stories so that I didn’t have to write and live my own.  So I picked the favorites of my favorites, three shows: Desperate Housewives, Brothers and Sisters, and The Office, and the rest I let go (even Grey’s Anatomy).  Since then the line up has switched a bit but for the most part the TV stays off in our house.

Daily silence is vital to me now and I’m certain there are ways I could invite more of it into my life.  I could probably do away with my Netflix account so that the TV is on even less often and I’d love to wake up before the sun (and my daughters) every morning for yoga and meditation.  But until I can encorporate those changes into my life, I will be grateful that I have come so far and found so much in the silence I have embraced.

*I edited this post, taking out my remarks about my trip home to NC.  My remarks were misinterpreted and feelings were hurt.  I never meant to convey that I did not enjoy my visit with family and friends.  It was an amazing visit for both me and my girls.  My mother was wonderful and spoiled the heck out of her granddaughters.  They loved every minute of it!

8 thoughts on “Silence

  1. Lisa June 10, 2009 / 8:30 am

    I could do without the TV too; it’s a love-hate relationship for me. There are about 3 tv shows that I love to watch and that’s it. For the most part, the tv is off here. Now, when the hubby is in charge, that’s a different story.

    BTW- I do remember Ann, she was good people.

  2. Tara June 10, 2009 / 9:44 am

    I couldn’t do without the TV. Yeah, we watch way too much of it, but with my ADD, I can’t handle total silence because my head is then too noisy!

  3. Christi June 10, 2009 / 10:07 am

    I guess Mom turned on the tv for the girls because she and I are alike in that area too. But, when the men are around forget it the tv on is a must! I know a Preacher who refers to tv as a Hellavision and that is the truth! Not much good comes out of it! But, I have to admit after everyone is in bed and it is my time I do like to escape a little before bed!

    But with a house full of kids silence is a very good thing! As the kids get louder the tv gets louder! And the noise gets worse in my opinion!

    • lesleehorner June 10, 2009 / 10:23 am

      Yes, the girls were TV junkies last week for sure!

  4. Christy June 10, 2009 / 7:05 pm

    Okay, I have the same problem you seem to have overcome. I not only have one show a night, but several. I can’t seem to go to sleep either unless I can find some version of Law and Order on. However, since most of the shows have been reruns lately (I don’t really do reruns unless its L&O), I have actually started exercising at night and just enjoying the quiet sitting on my patio. Last night I was telling myself that I need to make sure I don’t regress into my bad habits next fall when the new seasons start.

    • lesleehorner June 10, 2009 / 9:25 pm

      It is helpful to decide to cut down the TV during the summer. I think that’s when I started and just decided not to start watching the shows when they returned in the fall. I will say though that we do fall asleep with the TV on, watching Seinfeld. Mark likes to fall asleep with the TV on and I usually just crash…if I’m not laughing at the show.

  5. Leigh June 11, 2009 / 3:08 pm

    Grey’s Anatomy? You GAVE UP Grey’s Anatomy????

    • lesleehorner June 11, 2009 / 8:44 pm

      I really got turned off by the whole Izzie and George thing…I always wanted Izzy to be with the other guy (can’t think of his name, not Denny) and now I think those two are together, right?

Leave a Reply

