Facebook

I signed up on facebook in October.  I resisted it for a while, for fear of making my life too public (ironic huh?).  But once my husband joined and had been on for a few months, I realized it was pretty harmless and decided I should go for it.  I have reconnected with so many people from my past and am quite amazed by the ride it has taken me on.

I believe that when you die, you are submitted to a life review.  Well, facebook for me has been a miniature version of that life review.  With each new “friend” I make, I see snapshots of my life and the path I have traveled.  I have about 230 friends now and each one brings with them a little bit of my history.  I am facebook friends with the first boy I kissed, my first prom date, my first boyfriend that had a driver’s license, the last guy I loved before I met my husband, and the last guy whose heart I broke.  I am connected on facebook with my oldest friend and my newest, with the friend that sat with me on a bench as we nursed our toddlers right in the middle of the North Florida State Fair where people typically don’t do that sort of thing.   I am friends with my uncle who was courageous enough first to move to another country and start a new life and later to divorce his wife and be true to who he really is.  I am friends with a few people who at one time were my enemies.  I have found my best friend from jr. high who shared my obsession with New Kids On The Block and sat on the front row with me through two of their concerts.  The friend that used to read my poetry when I was in 12th grade has read a few of my most recent works.  I am friends with people who have bore their souls to me and I to them.  I am friends with people who love me and whom I dearly love. I am friends with my husband, who like a modern day prince, rode up in his white Honda and carried me away to build a life with him and blessed me with the two most precious gifts of my life.

If you go to my facebook page and scroll through the names of my friends, you will be studying the road map of my life.  Some of those people represent brief rest stops and others were places my heart stayed for much longer.  Some of them had forgotten all about me until my name appeared on their computer screen and others had carried me with them for years.  Some of them have already said hello and goodbye in their facebook way, and others will be with me forever, I’m sure.  One thing I know, is that finding them, remembering them, and knowing them again is something I am extremely grateful for.

3 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. Christi May 21, 2009 / 2:27 pm

    That is definitely something to think about! I am not able to get on it very much. I originally just got on it because of Aunt Valerie a couple of years ago. I don’t stay in touch with it like I should.

  2. heather May 21, 2009 / 5:10 pm

    Leslee, remember that email Kristin sent around years ago -I kept it for a long time – different people cross our paths for a reason, a season, or a lifetime – your post kinda reminds me of that note. Like you, I have forgotten a lot of pieces from childhood and growing up – reading your posts brings back some memories. BTW, thanks for being my lifetime friend:-) I know, cheesy.

    • lesleehorner May 21, 2009 / 7:43 pm

      Heather, you are my lifetime friend, I love you dearly and we have definitely bore our souls to one another!!

Leave a Reply

