A Little Cheese

I mentioned the other day that I had written a poem and it was the second poem I had written about myself and my journey.  I did a little digging and found the first one.  Reading it now, after being in a writing group for a year, I’d say it’s pretty cheesy.  But it expresses a huge moment in my development, so I’ll share it anyway.

Used To..

I used to be a poet, until someone told me it wasn’t worth my time.

I used to be pretty, until someone told me I was average

I used to be intelligent, until someone told me I didn’t measure up

I used to be strong, until someone told me I couldn’t pull my own weight

I used to be a teacher, until someone told me my classroom was chaotic

I used to give my heart away, because someone told me I had to settle

I used to listen to the critics, until someone told me to be different

I used to feed my body, until someone told me to feed my soul

I used to give up, until someone told me to believe in my dreams

I used to be average, until someone told me I was smart and beautiful

I used to keep my light turned off, until someone told me I needed it for the journey

I used to believe the worst in people, until someone told me to look for the best

I used to be grounded, until someone told me I could fly

4 thoughts on “A Little Cheese

  1. meagan May 11, 2009 / 9:42 am

    i love this poem, especially this line: i used to feed my body, until someone told me to feed my soul

    • lesleehorner May 11, 2009 / 9:51 am

      Thanks Meagan!

  2. Leigh May 13, 2009 / 1:29 pm

    Beautiful, true, and not one bit of cheese in the whole blame thing.

  3. Heather May 15, 2009 / 9:11 am

    Leslee – I love this poem. I think I will hang it on my corkboard. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

